My Awesome Snowboard Wedding – 4 Years Ago Today

12 Mar

So this post is actually a product of my baiting…er, boasting on Twitter in response to BurghBaby’s tweet a few days ago about this insane Alice in Wonderland wedding. Check that out and you will lose your mind over how cool it is. Anyway…BurghBaby joked that all other weddings were lame by comparison and I couldn’t resist chirping back that my snowboard wedding was so not lame and I have the pictures and video to prove it. Unspoken in my tweet: pleeeeeeeeeease ask to see them!!!!!!!!! I seriously love to brag about our wedding because it really was the best day ever and it really was super cool, even if we had pretty much no budget. And by no budget I mean no money. Lucky me, she challenged me to post pictures…and conveniently my anniversary is today (er, yesterday by the time I uploaded the post) which makes it even more appropriate at the moment.

I wanted this to be a long post with more details about what we did but I’m going to try and keep it succinct and post a bunch of pictures instead.

We chose Steamboat because they were the most supportive, accomodating, and helpful when I called them and explained what we wanted to do. We used a clearing overlooking the Yampa Valley where a Sunday worship is normally held. The resort is on public land so we were told we could pretty much do whatever we wanted. I’ll let the pictures tell the story.

My brother Dan ushered people in the right direction at the bottom of the gondola.

Friends and family set up the site in the hour or so before the ceremony.

Wedding Guest Parking :)

The "Aisle"

I want you to take note that our officiant, Judge Garrecht is wearing ski boots. One word. AWESOME.

These are the men who "gave me away." My brother Matt, my brother Dan and my dad.

Reception in the lodge.

Best Man Speech by THE David Cope.

We asked our guests to draw portraits of us instead of sign a guest book.

Wedding Party

Bride & Groom

Getting ready for our "celebratory run."

My handsome husband

And they lived happily ever after…

Other Media:

Video of James Proposing

If somehow you landed on this site because you want to plan a similar wedding, feel free to email me at carlykablooey@gmail.com with any questions. I had a hard time finding any information when I was doing my wedding planning but I’d love to share my “lessons learned” anyone who wants to do something like it or answer any questions anyone has. We obviously had a small budget but we looked at all kinds of stuff. I have lots of ideas that we decided not to spend money on, so let me know. I also tried to get sponsorship with several companies, so I can tell you about that and share my ideas about that too.

8 Responses to “My Awesome Snowboard Wedding – 4 Years Ago Today”

  1. tehamy March 12, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

    Wow! Looks like you guys had a great time! The views look stunning!

    • CarlyKablooey March 12, 2011 at 9:04 AM #

      We did have a great time. It seriously was the best day of my life. I never get tired of talking about it, looking at the pictures and reliving that day in my mind. Though I think I’ll always regret not spending more money for a professional photographer.

  2. FireMom March 13, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

    TOTALLY awesome. Totally. Big thumbs up!

  3. burghbaby March 15, 2011 at 4:07 PM #

    Ummm….yeah. DEFINITELY NOT LAME!

  4. Jennifer March 24, 2011 at 11:01 PM #

    Beautiful and unique. Love the pictures!

  5. Mia October 11, 2013 at 3:40 PM #

    I love it!!! I’m currently planning a snowboarding wedding on the East Coast and it hasn’t been done a lot so I know what you mean about being hard to find ideas and help. I’m glad your wedding turned out awesome though :)

    • CarlyKablooey October 17, 2013 at 6:56 AM #

      Thanks! I welcome you to email me if you have any questions or want to chat about your ideas, etc. The one thing I really regret is not spending more money on a professional photog. Best of the best of luck on your wedding and congratulations on your engagement!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

